Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shinai hairline cracks

hi folks,
    i bought the "musim" shinai from kendoshop 2 or 3 weeks ago - now it shows hairline cracks on the inside as pictured in the attachment.
    i sanded it and oiled it with a cloth wrapped around, which i dipped in raw linseed oil before. the cracks did not show before i oiled it - maybe they were made visible through the oiling process.

my questions are now: can i still use this shinai safely for practise? and where do these cracks come from?

thanks!

I had those when I got a shinai from my dojo, I also had an H shaped crack on the surface of the outside. It seems to be okay (mine atleast), even with beginners pounding on it(im a beginner too, and I've done my fair share of pounds). I could probably sand off the surface crack.

I don't know what to say about those things though.

Comment

I've seen such things before on my own shinai's. None of them have ever broken. I'd say you are probably ok.

Brian

Comment

Originally posted by moetl
        hi folks,

my questions are now: can i still use this shinai safely for practise? and where do these cracks come from?

thanks!
        they might come from these little beetles that eat bamboo.......
        this happened to me 2 weeks ago......
        try if white powder comes out of the shinai......as for the use:
        I don't see why you shouldn't still use it.....

Comment

Originally posted by Zaphiel
          they might come from these little beetles that eat bamboo.......
          LOL, i don't think there are little bamboo eating beetles living in my shinai

sorry, couldn't restist - it just sounded too funny. i know that these varmints exist

Comment

Exactly, mine appeared in the winter, and I live in canada, and it was reaching -30 this winter. Couldn't have been beatles.

Comment

just an idea........sorry

Comment