Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wasters & WMA

Hello,
    I do realize that this is a kendo forum and that the content I am about to discuss may not be exactly welcome, but i have come in search of the opinions of those who are brethren of the all around sword fighting community.

I am a student of WMA(Western Martial Arts). I have untill recently prefered the use of shinai as sparring weapons due to the fact that they are really good sword simulators. BUT I have made a most welcome discovery! I have found that there are specialized sparring weapons made for those few who take the route of Medieval and Renaissance Martial Arts. They are called 'wasters' and were in use in europe very early on.

These are similar to bokken(asians were not the only ones to come up with the idea.)
    www.hollowearthswordworks.com
    www.woodenswords.com

These wasters are extremely durable and actually (when cared for correctly) will last a lifetime. 1 out of every 3000 break! They have almost the exact weight and point of balance as that of a real sword.
    You are supposed to oil them once a month for ten months and then once every four months there after. To oil them you use mineral oil, lindseed oil(historicly used), or tung oil.

Now I mean absolutely no offence, but I truly view WMA as superior to asian martial arts. Not concerning 'hand and foot' martial arts though (the asians are unmatched in that aspect). But when it comes to 'bladed' combat, the european styles are much better in my eyes.
    There are many misconceptions concerning european weapons, swords in particular. Many think they are heavy, sharpened kro-bars to be senselessly flailed at an opponent. As a matter of fact: the swords that were used specially to dismount knights and chop the heads off of pikes were usually about 6 feet long(these were quite uncommon), but they NEVER wighed any more than a mere 6 pounds!!