X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Kendo. Help?

Hey all, I'm pretty new to kendo...I've dabbled in sword play for a long time...but I've not done much at all in kendo.....Do any of you care to share with me what I should do to further my knowledge..

Your first step should be to find a dojo.

Comment

Done that.....Unfortunately, there are none in my area. Hence the reason I've come here....maybe glean some training tips...or places online I might go to get some tips on form and what not...

Comment

Sorry, we don't do that here. Where are you exactly, we may be able to help you find a dojo.

Comment

Unfortunately you can not reliably train without getting the necessary feedback on your form and technique that a sensei will be able to give you. To learn properly you really need someone that knows what they are doing teach you. If you don't then you are almost assuredly going to develop bad habits that will mess you up even after you are able to go to a dojo to learn. There are a myriad books, videos and even websites that go through techniques, but none are meant to take the place of a sensei. Where abouts do you live? Are you sure there are no dojos within your reach?

Comment

I live in Kansas....I've done a dojo search...but I've not been able to find one in my area....the closest one I've found is over 150 miles away

Comment

arrrrrrr. This really sucks... I know your pain and agony. But I have to advise you to wait. Watching Starwars 1-6 won't help your Kendo skills that mucho !!!!

Originally posted by Dance of Death
              I live in Kansas....I've done a dojo search...but I've not been able to find one in my area....the closest one I've found is over 150 miles away

Comment