X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I feel like I'm not progressing and no one to help me

hey guys, long time lurker and casual poster.

I don't know who to turn to for this issue. I mean, I really don't want to tell any of my peers yet so I'm telling you guys, hoping for some advice.

I joined my university's kendo club in Fall 2005 and did it for a school year. At the end of the year, one of my sempais told me to hang in there and that everyone goes a different paces. Some people get their bogus in one semester, some people need 1 or 2 years. I'm currently in my last year of uni but I took last semester off so it's my "first" time back to school and kendo, however, I remembered all the strikes and how to do them.

When I went back to the kendo club, I noticed a lot of members who joined in the previous semester and there were a couple of guys and girls who were already approved for bogu. Of course, I was jealous cause I worked really hard in the last semester and after all that work, not even a look or pointers from the sensei. It's already 2 months into the semester and I'm just wondering, what is my encouragement right now? i mean...I love martial arts. That was my drive when I joined the club anyways and my other purpose was to meet more people cause before leaving school, it's always recommended to setup a network. I also pratice Karate and I learned that for 2 years and I'm actually progressing in that.