Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• why shout loud?

hi
    im new to kendo and would like to know why shouting at each other is necessary. or which purpose this shouting has.

is it just to "frighten" your opponent?

any response would be helpful. thx

Kiai/Shouting is the voice of your spirit. Quiet voice, weak spirit. Loud voice, strong spirit. That's my 2 second explanation.

Comment

Originally posted by nodachi
      Kiai/Shouting is the voice of your spirit. Quiet voice, weak spirit. Loud voice, strong spirit. That's my 2 second explanation.
      Although you have to differentiate kiai (expression of your spirit) and kakigoe (shout), while a big/loud kiai are usually expressed with a loud kakigoe a loud kakigoe does not necessarily express big kiai.

Comment

IMHO kiai is an absolute must have for good, solid kendo.

Try fighting without it!!!

Comment

The person asked why shouting was necessary, not for some philosophical nonsense.

You need to shout because the rules says you have to shout. Some people say shouting relaxes the body and hightens concentration but believe at your own will.

Comment

Originally posted by Yowai
            The person asked why shouting was necessary, not for some philosophical nonsense.
            its not philosophical nonsense, there are differences between kiai and shout as there are differences between shouting, yelling and screaming but obviously you haven't noticed it yet.

Comment

kiai is not only an expression of your spirit, but is used to lift ur spirit and put pressure on your oppenent. the higher your spirit, instinctivly the more effective your strikes will be

it is definatley not shouting or yelling, its something that comes from within

and unlike what yowai says, people dont use kiai because it says u must in the rules, hell if you dont the rules shouldnt matter because your kendo will just be down right terrible

Comment

Originally posted by aru-ma