Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Head strikes

Hello,
    Ive been doing kickboxing for a couple of years, last year I slipped a disk in my lower neck.
    I hurt my neck enough that I cant spar anymore, getting punched in the head is to painful on my neck.
    I was thinking of taking up kendo but worried the head shots would be to much. I have never tried on Kendo armor so Im not sure how much the helmet absorbs the impact.

Potential newbie

Originally posted by mrmugoto
    Hello,
    Ive been doing kickboxing for a couple of years, last year I slipped a disk in my lower neck.
    I hurt my neck enough that I cant spar anymore, getting punched in the head is to painful on my neck.
    I was thinking of taking up kendo but worried the head shots would be to much. I have never tried on Kendo armor so Im not sure how much the helmet absorbs the impact.

Potential newbie
    the kendo helmet, is sturdy enough that usually u wont even feel the blow properly, usually u will feel a tiny nudge, and hear a sound, enough for you to know that you've been hit.

it is quite safe, but because i dont kno how serious your neck injury is, i cant advise anything, i suggest you ask your doctor about it, he might know what kendo is, but what i CAN say is that its nowhere near a powerful blow as kickboxing...

what WOULD be worrying is actually not the head blows, but rather the tsuki, which is a thrust to the neck, although usually it isnt that bad, sometimes if someone does tsuki to you forcefully, you could be thrown back a metre or two, this is quite dangerous if u have a misplaced disk in ur neck... as the tsuki is part of the helmet, and could jerk your head back...

anyways, ask your doctor about it, it'd be safer...

-Best of Luck, Sungi

Comment

Mrmugoto, thanks for your interest in kendo!