X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kiai question.

I am a beginner in kendo, and when we practice our strikes we shout "men", "kote" or "do" depending on where we strike.

During kiri-kaeshi and during combat, do you still scream these nameparts? It seems to me that advanced students just shout "Yah" or do general kiai.

Can anyone explain please?

I think (no research to back it up) that it is up to personal preference.
    I have always been told by my own sensei that you shout the corresponding name to what you are hitting, however some of my fellow dojo members shout mixed up versions, or other things - from what I gather as long as you are showing with your voice you were meant to strike it, and of course hitting it, then its fine. But your kiai needs to be big, and not just shouting when you hit, but shouting before as well.

Comment

You should use the name of the target both in kiri-kaeshi and in keiko.

Comment

Second what Neil said. As you get more experience in kendo, you'll find that during keiko sometimes people will use a generic kiai when not going for a strike. This is perfectly normal. That being said, over time people create their own kiai and when striking, always still say the target they're going for but in their own way. For now though, just focus on what your Sensei is telling you to do.

Comment

Originally posted by Neil Gendzwill View Post
          You should use the name of the target both in kiri-kaeshi and in keiko.
          I think it depends on the dojo... I don't want to contradict Neil (who's forgotten more about Kendo than I am ever likely to learn), but I can tell you that at the JCCC in keiko no one calls out the target names - and that includes Tsumura Sensei. We do in kiri-kaeshi, but not in keiko. I've never been told not to call out the target names, nor specifically to call out the target names (in either kiri-kaeshi or keiko), so I can't speak to what's right or wrong.

Comment