X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First lesson in bogu

Not sure I've put this in the right place, but ah well.

Basically, I'm rather a newcomer to Kendo. I started in February, but have only just recently managed to afford bogu, (I'm a student). Tonight, I had my first proper session in bogu and I figured with 5 1/2 months training, I wouldn't get too much of a nasty shock when in bogu. I wasn't expecting to be very good but...well, to put it bluntly, I sucked. I didn't get a single hit in any of my fights (and there were quite a few), and whilst I understand many of the people there were much much higher grades than myself, it still gave my pride and drive a bit of a beating. I feel slow and stupid and am generally cracked with a men before I even know it's hit me. Having trained for years, others can clearly see the "calls" of what I am about to do, so I can't land hits, but I just can't react fast enough to what they are doing. I just get rings run around me all night.

I am desperate to do well and stick at it...but I did fancy just going home and weeping for a bit. There are others who have started after me and seem to have taken to it a bit better. I was wondering if people here took to Kendo as well, or if they had a hard time when first in bogu and if they have any tips on general improvement. Should I keep at it or does it sound like I am just not meant to do Kendo?

Thanks in advance!

One thing I really enjoy about my dojo is that we test for each piece of the equipment. It allows you to get used to each piece you wear. Sounds like you are just thrown into the entire set. I couldn't imagine trying to do well fully suited without much practice. The kote alone throws off how it feels to hold a shinai.