Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Developing flexibility and agility in the shoulders

Hi all,

I'm new to Kendo (only 2 months into it!) and I am looking for some idea's on developing flexibility in the shoulders. I'm on the mascular side being someone who works out a couple of times a week so I have fairly mascular shoulders but I've found that the better Kendo members seem to have almost 'elastic' type shoulders (sorry about the vague description).

I'm wondering if anyone can suggest some exercises, besides doing lots of daily suburi which I do, which may help to attain the flexibility needed in the shoulders.

Thanking you in advance.

As long as you have normal flexibility in your shoulders, you shouldn't really have to worry about it. What you should be focusing on instead is good swing mechanics and good tenouchi. Best exercise for this is suburi.

Comment

A good stretching routine is essential for any athlete that wants to avoid injury. This is true if you are doing resistance training, kendo, or any other sport. But, the stretches you do before and after shouldn't be all that different: a light warm up, dynamic stretches, workout, static stretches. Either stretching period should take less than five minutes. An internet search for both dynamic and static stretches will yield you plenty of options.

Comment

Originally posted by JThoma View Post
        A good stretching routine is essential for any athlete that wants to avoid injury. This is true if you are doing resistance training, kendo, or any other sport. But, the stretches you do before and after shouldn't be all that different: a light warm up, dynamic stretches, workout, static stretches. Either stretching period should take less than five minutes. An internet search for both dynamic and static stretches will yield you plenty of options.