Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Training plan

Hello everybody:

First of all i would like to congratulate all the members for keeping a respectable "conversation". It's hard to see tis kind of respect in other forums. This is my very first post.

Regarding this thread...

I started training Kendo about 5 weeks ago. It's being a wonderful experience, and i seem to become addicted. All i can think of is Kendo!!

I practice 3 times 1H30M a week, and I want more. I'm considering doing some "homework", by means of a training plan that will allow me to improve on some aspects that clearly desperate improvement. I don't know the terms, so i will try to explain the best i can:

- Footwork. Extreme lack of coordination when moving in diagonal, especially from top left to bottom right. Even slowly, i keep messing it up puting the left foot ahead of the right one.

- Footwork. Moving rapidly forward and backward. When i try to move as fast as i can, i notice a lack of balance when i change the way i'm moving (forward->backward and backward->forward). I can't seem to accelerate as I should!!

- Left hand/arm strenght. Well, lack of it, actually.

- Overall slow performance. This impresses me the most. I'm 1.90m (6'2'') and weight 91kg (200 pounds) and my body just lags... I see some other kendoka they just seem to fly past me...

These are my upmost weaknesses. I'm specially worried about the last two.

Can any one share their training plans (home work, specially) or at least point out some exercises to improve those issues...

Thanks

Jose

For left arm strength, I do one handed suburi (don't know what the correct term is). There's no need to do it fast at first - you don't want to injure yourself. Just make sure you have total control over the shinai then work from there.

Comment