X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Kendo Forms/Techniques

Hey i have been Researching Kendo for a couple years now since i was in High School, i know Etiquette,Rules stuff like that but what i dont know (or not that much of) is Forms and Drills, like i know acouples strikes but nothing too big. i have tried looking on youtube stuff like that but i dont really know what to really do so some help from experienced people would be great thanks alot if you can help

Is it okay to Train Hiltless in Kendo?

Would it be okay to Practice with a Shinai if its Hiltless? or go to Kendo Matches with a Hiltless Shinai?

Comment

Join a dojo and they will teach you all you need to know about kendo. Unless you are attending a dojo, learning anything about any forms or drills is worse than useless. If you will let folks know your city, perhaps someone could suggest a dojo in your area.

Comment

Oh sorry should have mentioned that lol, i Live Corpus Christi, i dont think there is a Dojo here

Comment

Getting the Right Size Shinai

Does Kendo Require a Certain Size Shinai/Bokutou? or does it go by how tall you are (From what i heard). If its by How tall you are then im 5ft 9 because i have had this Shinai (40 inches) and Bokutou (39 Inches), Dont want to be training with the wrong size stuff

Comment

You are correct. As far as I know, there is no kendo closer to you than Laredo or San Antonio. Sounds like it's time to start job hunting in a new city!

Comment

Shiba, I have merged all your threads into one, no need to reel off a bunch of threads.