X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Headaches after Kendo class

It's becoming quite common for me to have splitting headaches around half an hour after the conclusion of my kendo class. I'm used to headaches, but these ones make me lay in bed all day and the pain seems to be coming from the back of my head just above the neck/nape area.

Now I'm not one to complain about something that could be wroten off as minor and I know that my fellow kendokas do te-no-uchi since I've already experienced what my teacher calls lumberjack axe clubbing and proper te-no-uchi cutting techniques. I've also already bought a head pad to lessen the blows, but what strikes me funny is that the headache begins half an hour later as I approach my home and not during or after class.

Any ideas anyone?

Agua...mas Agua? I get headaches similar to what you describe if I get dehydrated. Then again, I'm not a doctor - but I play one on TV.

Comment

u play a doctor? kewl..

for ur question, go see a doctor.. seriously, i dont think its normal..

Comment

!Mucho aqua!

It used to happen to me too. I suggest first taking Paikea's implied advice and drink lots of water before and after keiko. You live in Mexico? Ok, I mean, LOTS of water! Just guzzle the stuff!
        Besides probably helping you avoid the headaches, it will also help you feel less sore generally, as lactic acid bonds with hydrogen and won't build up in your body (from what i've heard).
        Dehydration can do weird things to your body, seriously bad things too. If the water regimen doesn't improve anything next time, then it might be something different. Then take mystic's advice, and see a doctor!
        !Hasta la vista, amigo!

Comment

Originally posted by Paikea
          Agua...mas Agua? I get headaches similar to what you describe if I get dehydrated. Then again, I'm not a doctor - but I play one on TV.