Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• any one else train with their wife?

Hello,

I am new to kendo 3mo. My wife and I started kendo as something to do together. We drive 1hr each way to practice 2 time a week, which has not discouraged me in the least (my wife hates the drive). I would like to hear some advice from any one who trains with their partners. Not to toot my own horn but I have a natural tendancy to pick physical activities quickly. Problem is my wife is a bit clumsy. I am worried that if I advance quicker than she does she might become discouraged. I have learned already not to give her any advice (bad idea), but i wonder if anyone has some ideas on how help me help her improve without discouraging her, or put plainly, pissing her off. I would hate for her to give up on kendo.

thanks, Logan

My wife and I started kendo together a several years ago. I do pick up physical activity quicker than her as well. My advice..."never give advice". The husband is always fair game for a verbal lashing, you may have a shinai as a weapon, but they have sex, man, we are virtually unarmed!

Supportive training was my answer, if i didnt have anything nice to say...I didnt say anything at all, then I looked for the good and made efforts to encourage her. Then after a couple of years she was commenting on my kendo and now and then, whips my A$$.

Good training, (IMO) will develop good kendo, so your a quick starter, and she will get there later rather than sooner, but she'll get there...so I would encourage her, and enjoy her company, and let the instructor handle the teaching advice. Ultimatley we are lucky to have our partners join us in such an awsome activity!

Comment