X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keeping the Center on Beginners?

Hi everyone, I've been reading the forums for a while but this is my first time posting.

My question or topic for discussion rather, is whether or not to keep the center line when facing a beginner. What do you guys think about holding your kamae and letting your opponent run into your kensen?
    I often practice with a lot of beginners and they all have very big men strikes (which is good for them), but I normally try to avoid holding my kamae and letting them skewer themselves on my shinai. I usually try and practice some sort of waza or something. But I know that the concept of keeping the center line is very important in kendo.

When I was a beginner, doing my big men strikes, a sensei just held his kamae and I ran right into his shinai with my throat. He told me that I couldn't come in without the center. So listened and keep that in mind whenever I practice kendo. But because of that, as a beginner, I was afraid of coming in and doing big mens so my men strikes became small and weak. I actually had to practice and re-learn a strong seme and no fear when coming in to have a good men strike.

Here's the dilemma: When practicing with beginners, how do I show the importance of keeping the center and of a good men strike without sticking them in the throat/chest and making them afraid to come in? I've tried telling them to first, take a step in and apply seme, then go for a men strike when the opponent opens up, or to try harai. But then their kamae gets all crooked and it's too obvious when they are going to try a harai waza.

Perhaps it's just a matter of time when to introduce new concepts to them but of course I'm only san-kyu so I can only teach by example and have many things I need to improve myself. What do you guys think?

R.Yau
    welcome to the forum!