Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting a New Class [UPDATED VERSION]

Hello!

First off, I do apologize for starting a second thread- the site would not allow me update my old thread after it cut off half of the start post.

I am a nursing student in college, and starting next Fall I am contemplating teaching lightsaber-style combat to make some money while in college at UTSA. The college has a place I can reserve in the campus rec center, along with equipment such as mats and some foam protection gear. If I cannot do so there, I can do so at San Antonio's YMCA. I have some experience with martial arts clases, although all my kendo experience is all self-reliant. Likewise, I do have some prior experience with instructing lightsaber combat, as while I was a member of the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets I instructed other cadets and students in the basic forms of lightsaber combat and engaged in partner exercises along with no-contact sparring. There were no ranks outside of master and student, save for the exception of a first disciple/senior student as one had prior experience with kendo and European longsword fencing.

What I have in mind so far:
    -Students at least 12 or 13 years old
    -Gi uniforms
    -Heavy foam gear for no/minimum-contact sparring and partner drills until bogu gear can be acquired
    -Incorportating kendo discipline elements

However, I have no idea what to do regarding possible ranks, setuops, and the like. I am used to a martial arts and fencing (lame and round) setups and can incorporate certain elements. I had been drawn to kendo since it is the utmost similar art.

I would really appreciate any and all suggestions, tips, helps, etc. that you all have for me!

I will try to say this in a helpful manner, although it probably isn't what you want to hear.