X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parrying attacks

As a complete beginner to Kendo (only 2 weeks) I was wondering if it was acceptable to parry an attack and then counter i.e. if someone begins an attack can I counter their shinai with mine quite agressively then attack myself.

Sorry if it's a silly question but I'm trying to get to grips with Kendo but enjoying it very much.

Hello there.

No its not a silly question. Normally the best answer to a strike/cut is another strike/cut. But if you dont have time you can try and lay off an attack then counter. A sense of timing takes a long time to develop. All your life!

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I guess I'm still trying to get to grips with the differences between Kendo and more traditional western sword fighting which would involve a lot of attacking and blocking with the sword i.e. if someone made a "men" cut you would block it with your sword in a horizontal position which doesnt seem to be the way in Kendo

Comment

Hi Bob,

Parrying so you're in a position to counter-attack is good, but don't fall into the habit of just blocking because you don't want to get hit.

Comment

There are a number of threads dealing with the concept of "blocking". This seemed like an obvious area of inquiry to me (when I started) and I am still not totally satisfied with the generally accepted response (although I am not suggesting that I am arrogant enough to believe I am right or have a better understanding than others).