X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peculiarities of technique

I am a beginner little resources to draw from at my dojo due to lack of experience of the instructors so with slow maturity in my physical training, I am currently trying to mature my mind about Kendo.

I recently watched the top 8, semi-finals, and finals for the 8th Dan 50th All Japan Kendo Championships, and I noticed an interesting thing about each guy's heel alignment. I have been taught to keep my left heel straight and off the ground, and noted this similarity of heel alignment in the regular championships. I became a little confused and was thinking: if one is taught one way of heel alignment being straight for so long, why do every single one of these very high level Kendoists have their heal turned inwards?

I thought about this for a while and could only come up with one justification:

The basic footwork we are taught give us the foundation of correct body movement. As one gets more advanced, footwork becomes inherent with a high level of mastery over body movement, thus allowing the Kendoist to use the footwork that works best for them.

I most certainly appreciate anyones thoughts and ideas about the answer I have arrived at. Thanks in advance.

they have their heels turned inwards? I wouldn't know how a hachidan operates, but I find that weird. Maybe kendo was different when they learned it? You have to be pretty old to be a hachidan,

someone with more experience please answer this quesetion

Comment

It could have to do with age and joint issues and thus maybe they have to turn their heels/feet a bit. Maybe it's just too uncomfortable or not even possible to maintain straight feet as one reaches older age.

Granted this is just blatant guess work. Bring on someone with better knowledge than me.... won't be hard to find...

Comment