X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One's Favorite Kiai (kendo yell)

First off, I acknowledge that this topic has been discussed several times within the forum (here's a link to one such thread, titled: "War/battle cry" http://www.kendo-world.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4653 )... so please forgive me.

Although I'm still in 'beginner' status (I've been practicing kendo for over four months... and my sensei says it will not be until January 2005 when I'll be allowed to put on my bogu armor and spar with everyone else), oddly... my greatest concern right now is adopting an appropriate "kiai" technique during keiko/sparring. Years ago, I practiced Tae Kwon Do and I'm familiar with the purpose and meaning of a strong kiai... so I have the basic knowledge behind its purpose; it's origin coming from within one's body... the "chi" if you will (and no, I'm not implying that the "kee-op" yell associated with a Tae Kwon Do punch or kick is the same as the kiai for kendo... with kendo, the kiai is largely an attack on your opponent's spirit, etc.).

Anyway, my point is... acknowledging that a simple or extremely short kiai can, for all intensive purposes, be some sort of gutteral yell, it still sounds to me (based on my listening to all my dojo's intermediate to advanced students' kiais... and to the video clips located on Kendo World of the World and All Japan Kendo Taikai tournaments) that the yell is of Japanese origin. Know what I mean? Yes, I realize that perhaps I'm being a bit anal about this, but I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist... and I would like my kendo to be as true and correct as possible.