Too tense in the shoulders - need advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too tense in the shoulders - need advice

Hello all. I am new to Kendo and have been practicing for about 9 months now. One problem that I consistently have is the tight shoulder (like I am shrugging) when doing strikes. My sensei tells me to loosen up, but I cannot seem to find the remedy. Can anyone offer up some advice? I am afraid the nature of my work (I am a scientist and work at a lab bench), may be the cause and that I just need to teach my muscles to relearn proper positioning. Though I have not had much success thus far.

Thanks!

8 years of kendo and I still get told to relax my shoulders...

Think of pushing your chest out and trying to pull your shoulder blades towards each other at the back as far as possible. This will also help with other aspects of your kamae such as squaring and engaging your hips.

Aside from that, you can learn to relax your upper body by doing lots of hard keiko, e.g. 15-20min (maybe a bit less to start with) non-stop kakarigeiko, kirikaeshi or combination thereof. Becoming exhausted teaches the body how to function without tensing up.

Comment

This is something we all struggle with. Start by just trying to keep a relaxed kamae when you are not striking. Try doing footwork drills in chudan, and keeping everything from the waist up totally relaxed. Think of keeping your shoulders down. Tension in the kamae and in the swing often starts from the hands, so make sure you are not gripping too tightly.

When swinging, again remember to keep the shoulders down and grip light. There should be no tension at all until maybe 2/3 of the way through the swing, when your hands are already partway back to the target. Drive the whole swing from the left hand, both up and down. Try not to rush the swing, when you try to go too fast you tend to try to over-muscle it, which causes more tension.