X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hasso and waki

I use Chudan a lot. I like it. I Also use Jodan sometimes (useful) and Gedan very often (also useful).
    They have good advantages and a few disvantages, but I started to wonder about usefulness of Hasso and Waki.

How can we use it in keiko or shiai?
    Are they useful?

so far from what i have heard hasso and waki cant really be useful in kendo. in kenjutsu it can but in kendo since you are going for the quick strike instead of a powerful blow its almost impossible to score a point with it. i was also wondering about that as well and i asked my sensei about it and he told me what i just told you. they are both equally cool stances.

Comment

Waki Is very useful in kenjutsu but it really wouldn't be good in kendo... and as for Hasso??? I am new to this ^o^

Comment

Waki and Hasso are elements of kendo are bits and pieces of old swordsmanship that have been retained to keep more traditional swordsmanship a part of kendo. Realistically they have no use in kendo, just only to preserve traditions. They do have their use in traditional swordsmanship, but in kendo using them would put you at a disadvantage.

I don't know how acurate this is because I am recycling things I have heard in the past, but Hasso is useful for closed in spaces and for fighting multiple opponents. Don't ask me how as I am merely regurgitating random comments I have heard, although if that is wrong, I do deserve to be yelled at for passing on false info. My apologies if that is the case.

Comment

Originally posted by nodachi
          Waki and Hasso are elements of kendo are bits and pieces of old swordsmanship that have been retained to keep more traditional swordsmanship a part of kendo. Realistically they have no use in kendo, just only to preserve traditions. They do have their use in traditional swordsmanship, but in kendo using them would put you at a disadvantage.