Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello everyone

Hello everyone,

I'm Margali. I'm 47, female, and live in Denver Colorado, USA.
    I have a few questions about kendo:

1 I'm not in very good shape, and given my age, is this an activity I could participate in?

2 I'm curious about the mental/spiritual side of kendo. Would anyone care to comment on that aspect of the sport?

3 How much should I expect to spend on equipment and training?

4 Any advice on things to look for in an instructor? (Or any things to avoid?)

5 Anything else you wish you'd known when you were a complete newbie?

Thanks in advance,
    Margali

Hey Margali,

Glad that you're interested in kendo! It's a great sport/martial art (whichever you prefer to call it) to get involved in. I'll try to ansewr your questions as best as I can but note, I (myself) am still a beginner.

1. The first few lessons won't physically exhausting. It (depending on the dojo that you attend) revolves around the etiquette that you should be aware of, terminology, how to sit in 'seiza', etc. The lessons post-etiquette looks at the footwork that you'll be using and the basic Chuudan No Kamae. While these lessons are ongoing, doing some excercise at home will help in the long run in both your health and your kendo. Basic excercise such as jogging, running, eating healthy food (getting rid of all that junk food/fast food that working people seem to eat on the go) will improve your health, and you will be glad abotu it. And as for your age, my kendo club has had someone roughly around that age join and he's still going on strong! (note; he joined roughly around March 'o8 and has participated in most of the lessons that we've had since then.) So it's not all about yoru age, but also your willpower & determination.

2. I'm not the best person to answer this, so if any of the sempai here on the forums can answer this question, don't hestitate ^^