X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Perfect Present

Well, this may sound kindda silly but... my bf is a 2dan and he loves kendo... I started practicing after him... long after xD (I got to 2kyu last month... only have 8 months at kendo) and this will be our first x-mas as a couple so I want to give him something especial.

In my case, drawing is my passion (besides him) so I thought I could paint a tenugi for him as a x-mas present. I know some ppl take tenugis like a piece of clothing for keeping ur sweat or hair from falling over ur face but we take it as something more especial... after all it goes with you under the bogu, it's design should inspire u.... but... uhmm.. am not sure about the fabric I should use or the paint I could use... also am not sure about what kind of designs tenugis should have, I know they usually have kanjis with phrases but I have little ideas about what to write/paint on the tenugi.

I would be pleased to have some advice on the matter... xP

Originally posted by Zeith Geist View Post
    In my case, drawing is my passion (besides him) so I thought I could paint a tenugi for him as a x-mas present. I know some ppl take tenugis like a piece of clothing for keeping ur sweat or hair from falling over ur face but we take it as something more especial...
    I cannot think of any other gift more personal and imparting more of the true concept of gift giving, than something hand-made.

I think your idea is perfect, and the recipient will most undoubtedly be very happy to receive it.

I know I would.

As far as design, my advice is to make it original, something uniquely you.

Comment

Maybe you could use something color-fast like a tie dye kit as paint? Kanji is okay if meaningful otherwise I'd suggest using your own inspiration for the design.

Comment