Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to tie hakama for female kendoka

Hi there! Newbie here and at kendo too...not even 6 kyu yet :$

I will be purchasing my first uniform soon and my sensei showed us how to tie a hakama but it's hard when you don't have your own and specially because I'm the only female in our group. I searched through the threads and I couldn't find a particular way to tie the hakama. I also read somewhere that women tend to tie the back first and then the front (or it could be the other way around, don't really remember), so I wanted to ask the more experienced ladies here if they have a particular way to tie the hakama. I'm 5'5 and I have a slim build, b cup and normal size hips (I usually wear size small and size 5 for jeans or lower depending on the brand, another measurement is 92 cms of hips). I appreciate any inputs from the sempais here
    Last edited by tmog; 5th January 2016, 12:51 AM.

Women tie the same as men. They just usually tie them higher. If you have a pronounced waist then you will probably be more comfortable tying it at the waist than at the hips as men do. This usually means going up a size.

Look at the picture in my post at the top of page 3 in this old thread.
    Last edited by Neil Gendzwill; 4th January 2016, 04:18 PM.

Comment

Thanks for the tips . I was going to choose a size 3. But if my waist is narrower than my hips, wouldn't going a size bigger be a bit of a problem? I might be wrong but I wouldn't like having too much extra fabric on me

Comment

Originally posted by tmog View Post
        Thanks for the tips . I was going to choose a size 3. But if my waist is narrower than my hips, wouldn't going a size bigger be a bit of a problem? I might be wrong but I wouldn't like having too much extra fabric on me