Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reiho

Hi all,

I am new to Iai, it was my 2nd class last night. I am already having difficulty remembering the Reiho. Anyone have any tips to remembering it all?

Thanks
    Drew

Practice, practice, practice

Comment

hehe I expected that would the answer. I think i am just a little overloaded in that I learnt the basics of Noto(returning sword to saya??) also last night.

I like Reiho though, I think it looks impressive when done properly.

Out of curiosity, does Reiho differ from Seitei to a Koryu? I have not seen a Koryu style being practiced yet.

Cheers,
      Drew

Comment

Originally posted by abryson

Out of curiosity, does Reiho differ from Seitei to a Koryu? I have not seen a Koryu style being practiced yet.
        It does, yeah.

Now is a good time to get a basic grasp on reiho. Since you`re studying very basic stuff in the early lessons, there`s less to distract you from this vital aspect of iai practice. It took me an embarrasingly long time to learn my beginning and ending to-rei, and when I say "learn," I simply mean performing the actions in the correct order, not with the expected finesse. I think there`s a tendency among westerners to view the etiquette portion of Japanese fighting arts as less important than the more practical combatative aspects. But Japan is a culture of kata and your beginning and ending reiho are no less part of the kata than mae and ushiro. This is especially true of shinsa where sloppy reiho can damn you as much as a botched noto (or so I`m told). Also, remember that later in your career, when you`re performing kata in front of people, the reiho will be, respectively the first and last impressions that you make. First impressions are vital in Japanese society and, by extension, in imported Japanese culture.

That said, don`t expect to have it completely in the bag so early on. Iaido is one persnickety art and everything takes time.