X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interesting

Anyone know what ryu this is. It's seems to be iai without seated forms or nukitsuki.

Some Moves
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gX8tQ...elated&search=

Some Kata
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKkYh...elated&search=

Tamashigiri Extravaganza
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4S5Dk...elated&search=

reminds me of Headong Kumdo. Notice the korean writing. Not saying that it is though.

Comment

incredible tameshigiri, this isnt haidong, in haidong, they use a grey hakama and a different blue ontheir keikogi

Comment

Let me dispel some myths about tameshigiri. It is simple to cut straw and mats. You need a sharp sword, the weight of the sword dropped onto a mat will cut into it about two inches, the mats they use in the video can be cut with one handed cuts. VERY EASILY. You just need simple technique.
        I proved this by getting a complete beginner to cut a three mat roll with a single handed cut, which he did with no problems after being shown the technique and trying it out without the mats there for about ten 'swings'.
        I have similar techniques on a battodo tape, and there is a korean competitor on the tape, so I suppose this is related. The stances suggest not much iaido but more kendo influence as they are quite high in stance and do not use iaigoshi. The hand grips are not too good on some of the clips. The posture in some parts is poor, and I thought the techniques shows an early level of practitioner, in particular the 'avoidance then cut' move which has too long a time interval...

Comment

I belive it may be Toyamaryu

Comment

Originally posted by chidokan View Post
            The hand grips are not too good on some of the clips. The posture in some parts is poor, and I thought the techniques shows an early level of practitioner, in particular the 'avoidance then cut' move which has too long a time interval...