Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interested in starting kendo/iaido.

Hello to you all, in advance.

Just had two basic questions for you, any help would be appreciated. First off, as the name says, I'm new to any and all martial arts. An old friend of mine (who, of course, moved away- so I can't find a dojo nearby me easily) had taken up iaido a little while ago, and suggested it to me, because he said it was a wonderful thing, and he'd recommend it to anyone. I was curious, and I think I know the answer (yes), would it help to start another form of a martial art (such as karate) to work on other things, before going straight to kendo, or iaido, depending on which is better to start with? I'd think taking up a different martial art, to work on flexibility, strengthening, etc would be better. However, I do know iaido focuses largely on the strengthening of the mind, as well as the body, so perhaps there isn't a large need to start with another martial art?

My second question would be, do many dojos offer private lessons? I don't do well with group things (largely because of my mentality, which would sadly make me focus less on my work and more on what the others thought of me), and I think a private lesson would also help me more, because its a 1-on-1 situation, so I'd be taught better. If many dojos do offer private lessons, does anyone know of a good one in New Jersey (preferably north)?

Once again, thanks in advance.

Hey

Theres no real reason to start Karate to prepare for Kendo or Iaido , best thing is just to start kendo or Iaido , or even better both

Kendo and Iaido are both great for mind body and soul. you get somthing special out of it

I dont think any Dojos offer private lessons . Sooner or later you will have to start working in a group , the fact that Kendo and Iaido is a group thing would be great for you , it will challenge you to over come this "problem".