X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paul Chen

Hi. I've been reading the threads and alot of you seem quite experienced when it comes to Katana's. I have to admit i'm a terrible newbie so please forgive my ignorance. I live in a small town in the north of England so there arn't too many resources for me to learn from.

Anyway, i'll get to my point. Do you guys rate Paul Chen's range of katana's, Iaito or Shinken? You don't really see many others over here. Maybe i'm just looking in the wrong places.

I have Paul Chen's Practical Katana. Its super basic. Pretty much no decoration and no historical ties. Cuts corners by having imitation Rayskin etc. I can't really rate the blade as I don't really know how a sword should be weighted exactly. It's a tiny 134 compared to the swords that I have read you guys talking about.

Any info for the young and naive would be greatly appreciated.

is the blade attached to the handle?
    just kidding, but seriously is it sharp? if its razor sharp its most probably a katana, if its half sharp half blunt its an iaito... i think..

Comment

Oh I think you misunderstood my question. My katana is a live blade not a iaito (i'm a newbie but give me some credit, haha). What I was trying to ask was do you think Paul Chen's Katanas and Iaitos are anygood? Maybe I worded it wrong.

Comment

Originally posted by kundalini
        Oh I think you misunderstood my question. My katana is a live blade not a iaito (i'm a newbie but give me some credit, haha). What I was trying to ask was do you think Paul Chen's Katanas and Iaitos are anygood? Maybe I worded it wrong.