Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To BKA or not to BKA

Hi all,

I've just discovered this great forum and been reading all the back posts for a few days and am quite impressed by the knowledge of the members.

Anyway I thought I'd put to you a question that I've been thinking about for a while now.

I'm a student of Iaido but have never joined the BKA. Should I join?

For me for a whopping 30 a year the BKA don't seem to offer very much. Their treatment of Iaido at best seems to be an afterthought beside Kendo and they seem to do very little to publicise it.

I'd be very interested in hearing everybody's thoughts on the matter.

Thanks.

whats the bka?

Comment

BKA

Originally posted by Dr. Hellsing
      whats the bka?
      British Kendo Association.

Comment

AFAIK if you practice in a dojo the BKA membership is for insurance cover... Other than that if you are not interested in gradings, seminars or taikai you won't need that. But isn't the insurance part the most important thing???

Comment

Mishima

Do I take it that your teacher is not in the BKA? Normally people join the BKA because their instructor is a member and that they wish to grade and/or take part in Taikai. ( I think it is also in the rules for you to join any BKA dojo after attending more than 6 weeks due to insurance). By the way, which Koryu you study? (not being a member of the BKA I take it you don't practice seitei gata unless you are affliated to the ZNKR in another capacity).

Comment

Hi again.

I'll try to answer your questions.

I agree, insurance is important, though maybe more so in Kendo than Iaido. But I don't attend a Dojo anymore largely due to a move of house. Now myself and three friends practice together in a small hall we get to use free.