X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sword Drawing question (nukitsuke)

Hello i'm new to iaido and i was hoping if someone could help me with a question. I'm about to by an iaito and was wandering about something. At the end of the draw when your arm is out the farthest before turning outward, is the tip of the blade out of the saya or should it be still in. I ask this because i'm not sure what lenght to get i did the measurement test at swordstore.com and it said for the blade to be the longest they make 29' and that length feels a little long for me. if anyone could help thanks.

I learned to determine the appropriate length of a Katana for you is when you hold the Katana with your right hand and point the sword downward close to your toe, the point should be very close to the ground but not touching the ground. Then it'll be a good length and comfortable for you to draw your sword foward and clear the tip from the opening of your saya before turning out.

A 28 inch blade is the appropriate length of a Katana for me.

Comment

You should consult your sensei about the right blade-length.

Comment

Mantra: Ask Your Instructor.

Originally posted by morbidbattlecry
        Hello i'm new to iaido and i was hoping if someone could help me with a question. I'm about to by an iaito and was wandering about something. At the end of the draw when your arm is out the farthest before turning outward, is the tip of the blade out of the saya or should it be still in. I ask this because i'm not sure what lenght to get i did the measurement test at swordstore.com and it said for the blade to be the longest they make 29' and that length feels a little long for me. if anyone could help thanks.
        I take it you mean 29" and not 29' . But seriously, ask your instructor because the preferred length is a function of the sword style.