Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first iaito

Hey everyone

I'm a beginner in iaido and i'm thinking of buying my first iaito.
    My sensei advises me to go with a Ninecircles Stainless steel one, since ordering outside of Europe would cause delays and extra $ on customs import.

Are there any other Europe Stores that sell good quality Iaitos ??

Thanks in advance

Here you go. Iaito from a trusted forge, sold in Europe, at only a fraction of the cost of NineCircles.

Man, I like NineCircles, but their metal sword prices are steep to say the least. The Chen Practical Iaito is, what, half that cost?

Comment

Usually you get what you paid for. I have no experience with Chen's iaito. I did have a one of his "mushashi shinken" long time ago (before I started iaido). It was very thick and top heavy. If his iaito is similar to the sharpy, then I would stay away.

Comment

@ Anorymous, the link you provided seems to be good, but i'm second doubting the prices, no offense but my sensei told me to not trust iaito's which price lower than 200 euros, not that i can see the diference though, but sometimes they may lack quality in some little detail that will be a problem in say.. 2-5 years..

Anyone else has experience or a review on this katana-samurai-sword.com ?
        Any other shops in Europe?

Comment

Have you read this thread?

Comment

Originally posted by Anorymous View Post
            The Chen Practical Iaito is, what, half that cost?
            You ever actually handled one? The fittings are crap.

Comment

got one of the nine circles iaito recommended by my sensei as well

nice and well made good for a beginner

Comment

Originally posted by Neil Gendzwill View Post
                You ever actually handled one? The fittings are crap.