X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to Japanland

In three weeks time me and two of my students are leaving on a jet plane to go to Japan (but unlike the JD song I do know when I will be back again).

It's my first time and I am really excited about going. Two whole weeks with Oshita Sensei will be bliss.

Looking forward to some sightseeing too; we already have in mind several obvious touristy places but can anyone here recommend some intesreting places not too far from Kobe which might also be of interest?

thanks,

Lee

Koyasan, the Shingon Buddhist mountain is well with visiting, Lee, but it's more of a two day trip, unfortunately. It was my favourite place when I went.

Comment

Arima Onsen (有馬温泉). One of the most famous hot springs in Japan. And the best thing, it is within easy reach from the city center.

Comment

Meirin. Tozando. Nijo castle has two sword shops close by, one on the road from the station, the other on the corner just before you go in. (You can see I have shopping up front first...) Nara, but be warned the deer attack you if you have any 'deer biscuits'... I like Kiyomisu (sadly under wraps last November and will be still when you go) and Sanjusangendo. Not sure if they have removed the plastic from the golden tea house yet either... more a plastic tea house... thats a nice walk around if you follow the stream, some lovely gardens. and as you are pretty close Osaka castle is pretty good, and has a iai/kendo dojo and a kyudo club you can wander into and watch. Himeji castle (was used in last samurai as a temple. weird people, film makers...) is also under wraps due to having a lift installed.
        Hope you get a better exchange rate than I did in November...(118 to was the worst I have ever had...) you need better than 175 to get a fair swap for your cash. And DON'T bring a spare case home full of stuff, airport will rip you off for 100 quid. Put it all in the post, miles cheaper.