X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Iaido exercises?

Hello, I was wondering if someone could tell me about excercises for iaido. Both for form and general training. I currently have some training in kendo and I have been doing research for quite some time now.

I started kendo and then picked up iaido later (about 2 years later). I can tell you that there's not really anything you can do on your own until you go to an iaidojo and start practicing it for yourself, despite the kendo background. I say this because you'll need a sensei in front of you to point out exactly where your kendo assumptions do not apply and what is different in iaido. I've been doing both now for close to three years and I still have to keep them largely separate. However, there are many things they share in common and things I learn in one help inform the other. The kendo background will make learning iaido easier compared to if you never had any JSA experience.

Once I started (ZNKR seitei) iaido these are some of the things I worked on which were different from kendo:
    - cutting shape (kendo "cuts" are quite different) including cutting with monouchi (kendo does too but it's a different feel), finishing with the blade at horizontal and different tenouchi
    - finishing a cut in iaigoshi, a lower version of chudan kamae than I was used to in kendo
    - finishing a cut in reverse-iaigoshi (left leg forward)... just when I thought I had straightened that back foot in kendo, well now there's the other foot to straighten out
    - keeping horizontal cuts (e.g. nukitsuke) horizontal (I really couldn't see this for myself until I had the sensei correct the position of the kissaki numerous times)
    - kitsuke: the way one wears one's keikogi will affect one's iai (aside from the requirement to look good and proper), or at least how comfortable one feels with the saya tucked in. It's not quite so forgiving as kendo.