X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info on buying a sword.

Greetings all. I'm new to Iaido (started about 4-1/2 months ago). Sensei has indicated it's time to go from a bokken to Iaito. I've discussed with my sensei and fellow students. They've purchased mostly from Sword Store or Tozando. One has purchased from Yamato Budogu. I've been hearing some disagreeable comments such as Sword Store (post 2004 manufacture has degraded), Tozando (over priced) and Yamato Budogu (improper blade fit causing cracks). I've been checking comments on-line and have found most of them a few years old. Before I shell out a lot of money I'd like more recent information from other people practicing Iaido. Any feedback (likes, dislikes, more info, recommendations, etc.) would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hello
    One of our Iaidokas from our Dojo has two Iaitos from Sword Store. Both are very nice and well crafted. Good ballance, tight wrapping of the tsuka-maki etc. I've seen some Tozando Iaitos as well. They look great and are fine quality as well. I personally use steel and zinc alloy swords from Nine Circles. But since you live in the USA this might be not the number one choice for you because of shipping costs etc. But I can recommend these Iaitos.

Comment

I agree with Kensen on all counts. While any supplier will occasionally deliver a bad one, these are the ones you hear about, rather than the many hundreds or thousands that people are happy with. As I live in the UK I would highly recommend Nine Circles, though having said that I know people in Russia who have ordered from Tozando in USA and are happy with what they received.

Comment

My current sword is from Nine Circles, people in our club got theirs from NC or Tozando. We've all been happy with what we got, for how much we got it and when we got it.

Comment