Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schools for Iaido and Kendo or just Iaido in South California

Hello, newbie here.

I'm always fascinated with Japanese swordplay and wish to learn but I find that I like Iaido better than Kendo but I am willing to learn both if I could find a school near where I am that teaches both.

I live in Huntington Beach California and would appreciate it if someone could find a good dojo in the So Cal area or more specifically Orange County.

Originally posted by squallwinger
    Hello, newbie here.

I'm always fascinated with Japanese swordplay and wish to learn but I find that I like Iaido better than Kendo but I am willing to learn both if I could find a school near where I am that teaches both.

I live in Huntington Beach California and would appreciate it if someone could find a good dojo in the So Cal area or more specifically Orange County.
    Hi,

I live in HB myself and practice kendo and iaido under the Southern California Kendo Federation (SCKF) and the Southern California Iaido Association (SCIA). You may click on the links in my signature field for more information on each federation.

My kendo dojo is at the Orange County Buddhist Church (OCB) in Anaheim and I practice iaido at the Norwalk kendo dojo in Norwalk, which is about 30 minutes north off the 605. There are also a couple of SCKF kendo dojo in Orange County in Costa Mesa and Tustin.

You may also want to check out the Suio Ryu study groups in Anaheim and UCI. They incorporate kenjutsu and iaijutsu in their curriculum. Here's their website: http://www.suioryu-usa.org.

If you have any questions, please feel free to PM or e-mail me.

Good luck and welcome to the forums!

Comment

Hi again,