Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Iaido, or Not to Iaido that is the question.

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iaido, or Not to Iaido that is the question.

Ok here is my question. I've been practicing kendo for several years and have just gotten my Ni-dan. I have been thinking about doing Iaido for some time, and after talking to my sensei he indicated that it was about time I started thinking about doing Iaido as well. The big problem(s) I have are these.

1. I'm the senior student/teacher at our club. (and yes I know we should have someone better, but I'm the only one in the area so not much I can do about it.) So I won't have alot of practice time for the art.

2. For Iaido there is no one in the area that I know that practices or teaches it. The nearest is a 2.5 hour drive away and even then he is very busy these days and wouldn't get to practice with him more than once per month if that.

3. The only other place is a 5 hour flight away and obviously that is a bit expensive to go more than a couple of times a year.

So the big question is Iadio something I should bother trying to do?

If so are there good instruction videos that I'd be able to use to learn the basics?

I haven't done Kendo yet. But I've been doing Iaido for almost 2 months now and it's been quite a delight. As for the video/book instruction thing, although you have quite an extensive Kendo experience, as you know video/books never can substitute for a good teacher. I would wait to see when you can take an Iaido class and not give up on the thought on trying Iaido. Or search online for an Iaido seminar. With your years of Kendo experience, you should be able to pick up Iaido really well I believe.

Comment

Originally posted by Dave Fowler