Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bad consequences for a professional pianist?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad consequences for a professional pianist?

Hello,

Before I posted this topic I did a search on the forum and I couldn't find an answer, that is why I created this topic.

I'm interested in practicing a Zen discipline and the only one available for me is Iaido. I went for a first session and at the end I noticed some stiffness on my hands, as well as blisters starting to form (Before I had none).

Being a professional pianist I'm concern with possible Iaido consequences that could interfere with my profession.

Could you please tell me if Iaido practice will cause changes in the hands that will be a problem for a pianist?

Thanky you very much!

(English is not my native language, I did my best)

I've scraped my fingers enough to bleed on noto (resheathing) using a mogito (dull alloy practice blade but still pointy). No real damage but it's the sort of injury that pops up once in while. With a shinken (live blade), the risk of serious injury is not to be taken lightly. Aside from cuts, tennis elbow and other strain injuries can occur. Palms will toughen up a bit but it's not like working as a bricklayer. With proper technique most of the real work is being done by the core and legs.

Apologies for pedantry but it's probably debatable whether iaido has any real connection to Zen.

Comment

Thank you dillon for your response.

I have no interest in practicing with anything else than a Bokken with Saya. For me it is just the Zen aspect of this discipline and this is why I must ask the debatable connection between Iaido and Zen.

Originally posted by dillon View Post
      Apologies for pedantry but it's probably debatable whether iaido has any real connection to Zen.
      I don’t see pedantry in your statement. Could you explain why it is debatable?

Many thanks.

Comment