Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another newbie kicks a beaten horse

Hi folks,

I'm new to Iaido. I've been only studying for a little more than a month, and the class is only every other week. I desire to practice at home and purchased a PC Nami. My instructor wants me to use one of his Iaito during class for the time being. He inspected my Nami. I could tell he was "old school" in terms of "modern Iaido" but he did say that the quality and feel of the PC was the best he has seen for "one of those...". He handed it back and confirmed that he prefers I use his for now. He said, however that it would "probably be ok/safe" for home practice". However, being a little intimidated by it all, I sold the Nami and have been shopping for a "real" Iaito, having settled on the Higo Kosharei as the one that I like. However, after using the Nami and realizing that for what I'm doing, it seemed to feel even better to me than the "real" Iaitos in class...more "solid" and even better balanced. I know, this must obviously show my inexperience and I realize this.

But I keep coming back to the PC Gorin as my next sword for a couple reasons...One, there is no waiting period. The Higo will take longer than I can afford, as I may be moving to a different state before it even ships from Japan, and I'm to impatient, which my instructor also has mentioned several times. He told me early on that he can tell if a student is practicing at home or not. Then he'll turn around and tell me that I'm impatient and will not help me in my choice for Iaito for home use. I'm out here in the breeze.

The other reason is that there is just something even less "authentic" with the thought of a zinc or aluminum blade versus a PC steel blade (albeit a tempered stainless)...but the quality of the PC seems adequate for me and I can't get passed the "fake" metal blade concept of "real" Iaitos...Can someone enlighten me on this?