X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm Doing A What Now???

AAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrgggggggghhhhh!!!!!! !!

I've been doing jo for two weeks. I'm grading in a month. Exactly a month. I've never done a grading before. I've been doing kendo for a year but haven't had the chance to grade.

Oh my god.

chill dude,

The big sensei dude would not have put you forward if he thought u weren't ready.

Have faith

Comment

Relax and practice.

Comment

Not sensei, sempai. He just got his shodan in jo. He and his partner (who has unfortunately now gone to Japan) also came second in the last nationals for jo, which is very cool.

I know the whole 'just relax and get on with practise thing' and been told first grading in iaido, kendo and jodo is dead easy (one person put it as "rock up, wave your stick around, show proper respect and rei and you'll pass") but... well, does stop the butterflies. Thing is, we have a shodan for seitei jodo in Adelaide and that's it as far as I know so when you've got three senseis coming for a seminar that can grade people, you take the damn opportunity. There aren't many of us here that do jo and one of the guys organising the seminar that doesn't do jodo told me that because of that, it would be a waste for me not to grade.

*whimper*