Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Differences in Ran Ai

Hi there.

While browsing through youtube, always a good (or bad) source for budo movies, I noticed the following video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yaJYx2F0cVw

It is an interview with Fred Quant Sensei, and in the middle of the interview it has a movie of Ran Ai.

Besides the (impressive, at least for me) speed of the kata, and besides the fact that there's a little mistake at the end, what caught my attention was that there are certain movements that look a bit different than the ones I normally see when other people do it.

Now, I'm no expert at Ran Ai, or Jodo for that matter. I've only managed to get the sequence of movements right for the first time a few months ago, but some movements do look different, particularly the bit after kuri hanashi.

Any thoughts on this ?

Best regards and a great 2009 to everyone.

Fq

Hi there

Fred and others in Europe follow Pascal Kreiger Sensei and Nishioka Tsuneo Sensei of the European Jodo Federation. There are many others on here who can explain the differences better than me but from what I understand, Nishioka Sensei's jodo was "established" (for want of a better word) during the period when Shimizu Takaji Sensei was making changes from the traditional Fukuoka style into the more modern Tokyo style so within the EJF you will see aspects of both areas of jodo.

In fact, these aspects almost form a third pole (as in polarity) in the style and it is very interesting to watch the EJF practitioners.

Comment

Andy is correct. Nishioka Sensei's style is more akin to Shimizu Senseis teachings of the early-mid 40's. The former started teaching Pascal Sensei in mid 1990's.
      But, Pascal Sensei started learning Jodo in 1968 (Shimizu's later teachings).