X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Katate

Are there any single handed attacks with a naginata?

Coz I'm self taught and practice by way of experimentation I am often left with questions as the results of my actions.

The reason why I ask is that I find a katate Tsuki from either rightside or leftside chudan to be incredibly effective. Its fast, and because you push with your rear hand the tsuki goes to full extension (when you step and rotate through) and it also pulls back to chudan very easily.
    If your opponent strikes it you know well in advance of thier attack to step out of thier range and into kamae again.

please correct me if this is wrong, because I do not want a bad habit to form.

Cheers
    Paulo

some kata of Katori Shinto ryu and Jikishin Kage ryu use one hand strike, but none of them are valid in Atarashii Naginata, as far as I know.

Comment

I believe katate tsuki could get you disqualified in atarashii naginata.
      Because the extended length of the naginata makes it easier to break, which would be dangerous.

Please tell me if I am mistaken eh

Comment

Originally posted by emitbrownne
        ....to be incredibly effective. Its fast, and because you push with your rear hand the tsuki goes to full extension
        wouldnt this be highly inaccurate and therefore dangerous?
        i do kendo, and i think tsuki is accurate, but the katate tsuki to be considerably harder to do,
        and i think this difficulty and inaccuracy increases with the length of your weapon, and since the naginata is about 2 m, it would be double as inaccurate,
        especially since u teach yourself,
        i guess as long as u dont practise with partners its ok...

Comment

Originally posted by emitbrownne
          ....to be incredibly effective. Its fast, and because you push with your rear hand the tsuki goes to full extension